top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKristine Ahmadi

Getting musical- November 1, 2021

This past week in Independent Study and Mentorship I evaluated how to implement music into my Original Work project effectively without causing an overwhelming amount of sound at once. I read through a short passage from a book "Film music" by Roy M. Prendergast where he explains how music in films serve a variety of purposes. It aids in the shaping of emotional responses, the creation of a rhythm for scenes and segments, and the commentary on the action, to name a few. Films also use musical association because many people associate music with a certain type of emotion by using this method it helps audience members understand the mood of a film even if they do not understand the scene. Just by hearing the music of a scene most people will be able to determine the mood of the scene, this helps when watching foreign movies or television shows. Universality of movies is important to cater to other audiences so adding music that is not authentic but sounds authentic helps achieve that.


This coming week we will be consulting with our teacher about who our mentors will be. I am very excited to ask the professionals I have interviewed so far if they will be my mentor because they were very helpful with my research into cinematography this far.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The end of a journey- May 2, 2022

During this past week in Independent Study and Mentorship, I gave my final speech about my final product. Also before I gave my speech I got to network with a lot of parents, mentors, and teachers who

Nearing the end- April 18, 2022

During this past week in Independent Study and Mentorship, I finished editing my final product, a short film and turned it in. My short film was a little rushed at the end, so the editing was a little

Coming together- April 4, 2022

During this past week in Independent Study and Mentorship, I filmed another scene of my short film. This scene was the flashback scene that showed the reason why the main character was homeless and dr

bottom of page